Dinner · In the Kitchen

Orange Beef and Noodles

Hello! Happy Wednesday!!

I have contemplated what my first “real” post would be. Should it be a craft? Should it be a recipe? Should it be a fun activity to do with your 8  month old? I just could not make up my mind! One of the reasons I was having such a hard time deciding what to write about it because of pictures! I want you to SEE what I am crafting, or cooking, or the giant mess the activity that Ranger has a blast doing looks like. Then my husband told me about a book he had found that he thought I should read. It was a book on food photography. The book and where to find it and what I learned is information for a different blog, one where I have mastered what that the book as to offer. Do not fret though, I will eventually give you all that information! I have only read half the book though so I can’t pass on my wisdom just yet. Anyway! This made me decide that a recipe will indeed be my first post!

The another issue I have had with deciding what to post was my perfectionist nature. At least when it comes to putting something out there for everyone to read, see, and possibly taste! I know that I said I had gone to culinary school, but lets face it sometimes it’s like I never learned anything! We all have our moments though! I’d die if Chef Marz saw the rookie mistakes I make sometimes!!!

After finally deciding on posting a recipe for this week, I then had to decide what recipe I was going to make. This was a tough one because I am running low on groceries and we are not going to town to go shopping until Saturday, so I had to pick something that I had at least most of the ingredients for! Finally I decided on Orange Beef and Noodles. Now I will tell you this. When I make a recipe that I have not previously made ten thousand times I generally scour the internet and many cook books reading many recipes of the same general idea. This is so that I can take what I like from all the different recipes and make my own.

Ok Ok I’m done blabbing about how I got to this point let us get on with the cooking!!

Recipe name: Orange Beef and Noodles

Ingredient List:

1lb Beef cut into strips (I used pre cut fajita beef)

1/4C Cornstarch

1/3C Rice Vinegar

2T Soy Sauce

1/3C Sugar

1t Salt

Zest and Juice from one Orange (I actually used the zest from two oranges so I’d have enough for a garnish)

1T Minced Ginger

1T Minced Garlic

Oil for cooking

Steamed Broccoli

Pineapple Chunks

Lo main noodles or any kind of noodles you would like

Step one) Combine Rice vinegar, soy sauce, sugar, juice from orange, and salt. Set this aside. At this time make sure you start cooking your broccoli, and noodles.

Step two) Heat oil in wok. I used maybe 1/4C total. Coat beef strips in cornstarch. Fry beef strips in oil. Make sure to add them one at a time so as not to splash hot oil. Cook the beef until the outside is crispy and the inside is cooked. About four or five minutes, depending on how thick you have your beef cut. Set cooked beef aside to drain.

Step three) Remove all but about 1T oil from wok. Add the orange zest, ginger, and garlic to the wok and cook until fragrant. This will only take a moment, two minutes max.

Step four) Add the soy sauce mixture to the wok. Bring the mixture to a boil. We want the sauce to thicken, so as quick way to do that is by adding a slurry. A slurry is a mixture of corn starch and water. For this I used about 2T water, and 1T cornstarch. Mix the cornstarch and water so that there are no lumps and add to sauce. This will thicken your sauce very quickly. If you find that your sauce is too thick add a bit more orange juice or a dab of water to thin it to the consistency you would like, or if you sauce is still to thin for your liking add a bit more slurry. Really the thickness of the sauce is up to you since you are eating the end result!

Step five) Once the sauce is hot and thick, add in the previously cooked beef, broccoli, and the pineapple chunks. Stir to coat and heat through. Serve over noodles!

Step six) Devour the yummyness!

Substitutions I made when cooking this for dinner last night. I did not have fresh ginger, so I used powdered. I would recommend fresh though. I also only had macaroni noodles or Ramen  noodles so I used Ramen noodles and threw out the spice packet.

You could easily substitute rice for the noodles. I also think that it would be delicious with sliced up bell pepper instead of broccoli. Really you could add any vegetable you like, I just happen to love bell peppers, and last night I only had broccoli.

At any rate it was delicious, and my husband says I can make it again so I know it was a success!

Orange Beef and Noodles with broccoli and pineapples
Orange Beef and Noodles with broccoli and pineapples
Devour this yummyness!
Devour this yummyness!
I must credit these photos to my husband Ford...but I took some great ones of bread earlier!!
I must credit these photos to my husband Ford…but I took some great ones of bread earlier!!
I hope you enjoy this as much as my family did!!
I hope you enjoy this as much as my family did!!
2 thoughts on “Orange Beef and Noodles

  1. This Orange Beef recipe is great. My wife made this filling and delicious meal for me last night. She can make it anytime she wants! LOL
    Great post Ashley. Keep it up! Love you!

  2. I admire you so much. Our family is so lucky to have had you join it. I enjoy everything you write. I was even tempted to deliver a pizza to you!

Leave a Reply

