Dinner · In the Kitchen · Uncategorized

Macaroni and Cheese Casserole

Hello! Happy Wednesday!!

Growing up I can never remember having homemade macaroni and cheese, just the blue box. I’m not saying my Mama never made it I just don’t remember! So the first time my husband wanted me to make homemade macaroni and cheese I thought, “WHAT!!” I proceeded to pull out one of my favorite cook books The Pioneer Woman Cooks, Love Ree 🙂 anyway so that is the stepping off point for my recipe. I always seems to tweak my recipes and well I’m only cooking for 2.25 right now…Ranger eats what we eat but very little…I mean he is only 8 months old!!!

I call this a casserole because Ford say’s, “Macaroni and Cheese is a side dish not a meal.” So I add protein, and veggies call it a casserole and there you have it…ITS A MAIN DISH! Side note…Ford will eat box macaroni and cheese as a meal but homemade macaroni isn’t a meal?? Silly husband…oh well he is my silly husband and I love him!!

Ingredients:

  • 2C Macaroni Cooked
  • 2C Cooked Chicken
  • 4 Strips Cooked and Chopped Bacon
  • 4 or 5 Roasted, Pealed, and Chopped Green Chiles

Sauce:

  • 1 Egg Beaten
  • 2T Butter
  • 1/8C Flour
  • 1 Can Evaporated Milk
  • 1t Dry Mustard More If Desired…or less
  • 2 1/2C Shredded Cheese (I generally use cheddar but really any cheese because all cheese sauce is made basically the same way)
  • 1/4t  Salt, More To Taste
  • 1/4t Black Pepper

Step 1) Melt butter over medium heat in sauce pot. Sprinkle flour over melted butter and whisk.

Step 2) Pour in evaporated milk. (Remember I use this because I live out in the boonies…and I love it! You can use whole milk or cream or even 2% or 1% but it wont be as creamy!)

Step 3) Add dry mustard (or not if you are against it…personally I love it!) Now whisk whisk whisk for about five minutes, it will get very thick.

Step 4) Reduce heat to low. Take about 1/4C of mixture and pour slowly into the egg you have already beaten and set aside, whisk constantly to avoid cooking the egg. By the way this is called tempering the egg, we want to incorporate the egg into our sauce with out cooking it too quickly…we do not want scrambled eggs in our cheese sauce!

Step 5) Once the egg is fully incorporated into the small amount of sauce you may add it all back to the pot. Whisk until combined.

Step 6) Add the cheese!!  All but 1/2C that is…this is for the top!

Step 7) Once the cheese is all melted…oh yum!! Stir in your seasonings, salt and pepper, start with 1/4t and then taste add more if you like. You can also add other seasonings here, maybe some red chile powder would be good, let your taste buds be your guide!

Step 8) Ok so your sauce is made and seasoned perfectly! Stir in the cooked macaroni, the chicken, and green chile. I like to leave the bacon bits for topping but you can stir that in too if you like. Place all this yummy cheesy goodness in a baking dish top with the last 1/2C of cheese and bacon. Place dish in oven on 300 degrees just until cheese is melted. Also sometimes I make this earlier in the day and then pop it in the oven just before gets home so I don’t have to do it all last-minute. I’m thinking this would be a good cook ahead and freeze meal too.

Step 9) Devour the yummyness!!

I love this dish, my husband loves this dish, Ranger loves bacon, cheese, chicken, and pasta so we leave a little section with out green chile for him, my sister loves it ect ect…you get the point its tasty and honestly not hard!! Had I but known!! (Line from Aladdin 🙂 cheesy lol)  I would have tossed the box years ago!!!

Ash

This is the part I left green chile off for Ranger
This is the part I left green chile off for Ranger
Devour the yumminess
Devour the yummyness
Cheesy deliciousness!
Cheesy deliciousness!
One thought on “Macaroni and Cheese Casserole

Leave a Reply

