Craftiness · Parties

It’s a Cowgirl Baby Shower

Hello! Happy Wednesday!!
It seems that all the pregnant women I know are having girls! I’m fine with this it will give Ranger lots of little girls to chose from when they are older, hehehe. Seriously though, EVERYONE seems to be having girls!!! A few weeks ago my mother in law Dawndee called and said she had a favor, I thought she said she had a fever and said, “oh no”. To which she replied “Why don’t you want to do a favor for me?” It was rather amusing.

The favor she was calling me about was to help plan a baby shower for two local girls, one of them I knew the other I did not. She also added that she and another wonderful woman, Derlene, would pay I just has to plan. I of course said yes!! So here is the story of how I planned a joint baby shower while keeping the cost down as much as possible and making it as nice as possible.

First thing I needed was a theme. As I said a moment ago, I knew one of the mothers to be, but did not know the other. I was
informed that they are very similar though. After thinking about what I know about Kandes, she is very outdoorsy, and country so I decided on a cowgirl theme. I looked at lots of different ideas on Pinterest, all of them using pink as the main color, but I decided to go with red as the main color, its more true to a country theme, and well I just liked it more. So theme and colors have been chosen, next I needed the guest list and invitations.

I still have not gotten use to the way people announce gatherings in my small community. Usually they just hang a poster at the store, the post office, and the café. I, however, am all about mailing invitations, so I did that too. For events prior to this one I would have used a computer program to make the invitations. However, I am blessed with an extremely talented husband, Ford O Prather , and he asked if he could make the invitations. He may regret that now as I have given him a list of cards and invitations I want him to make. HEHEHE… (if you are interested in seeing his work, or getting him to do something for you his name links to his webpage, its very new he also has an Instagram)
So Ford designed and did the hand lettering for the invitations, and then I printed them on red paper and tied a ribbon on the top. I like to keep things simple and clean. Also if you get too much going on it can be overwhelming for you and the person you have invited.

Hand lettering done by Ford Prather
Hand lettering done by Ford Prather

The next step in planning for me was to decide on the decorations. As I said a moment ago I like to keep things simple. I was also trying not to spend too much money. So we bought red, white, and lace plastic table cloths for the tables. I used white for the food, cake, and game table, red for the gift tables, and red with lace over the top for the guest setting tables. We used red paisley bandanas, two on each table, with a burlap table runner on each guest table. For the center pieces on the guest tables I used a mason jar with clear cellophane wrap, one rose, and tied a lace ribbon around the whole thing. I had a few extra jars and roses so I also put these on the food, and cake tables. To distinguish the tables apart for the guest I had Ford make banners. Well, he did the lettering for the banners anyway. I had five banners in all, one for each gift table with the mother to be’s name, one for the food table that said Cravings, the game table, and the welcome banner that hung out side which read “It’s a Cowgirl”. To finish off the decorations I used red, white, and cow print balloons. I put three balloons on each table and along the walk way leading to the door.

Guest Setting
Guest Setting

 

 

Summer's Gift Table
Summer’s Gift Table

 

 

Kandes Gift Table
Kandes Gift Table

My next step was picking and putting together the games. I decided on playing five games.
Game 1) String Game, you know this one everyone tries to guess how big the belly is. Its fun its simple and if your mother to be has a good sense of humor its funny. The supplies needed are simple, string and scissors.
Game 2) Nursery Rhyme Trivia. This game can be played a couple of ways you can make them fill in the blanks or ask questions about the nursery rhymes. I chose the latter for this shower. Here is an example: Humpty Dumpty fell off of what? Answer: A wall The supplies needed game sheet and pens.
Game 3) Name that Baby Animal. This game I just gave the guests a list of animals, and had them tell me what the baby of each species was called. Example: Dog Answer: Puppy (That is an easy one of course, I made mine a lot harder) The supplies needed are a game sheet and pens.
Game 4) The Price is Right. This is a good game because then the mother to be gets to take home all the things purchased to play this game. To play this game you just need to purchase some things you know the mother to be will need, examples would be diapers, wipes, pacifiers ect. then you make a game sheet listing all the items and the guests guess the cost to purchase each item. You can purchase as many or as few items as you like. The supplies needed to play this game are purchased baby items, game sheet, and pens.
Game 5) Game 5 does not have a name, that I know of, I just took sherif badge stickers and wrote baby items on them, like swing, play pen, bumbo, ect and as guests arrived gave each guest a badge and that was their name for the night if you were caught calling them something other than what was on their badge you lost your badge, at the end of the night the person with the most badges won. The supplies need for this game are, stickers of some kind that you have already written on.
For the prizes I gave out gift bags, each bag had a pen and paper set that would fit in a purse, a candle, and a home made sugar scrub.

Games Table
Games Table

The food for this shower was super easy…I didn’t do any of it…lol. My mother in law is the queen of cakes around these here parts…no seriously she is, so she did the cake it was fabulous white cake with a cheese cake and strawberry filling, and then we had raspberry M & M’s, and cherry filled chocolate kisses, as well as chocolate covered strawberries. Then the grandma’s to be brought the main food dishes, and the theme was basically things no one should eat but we all love!! Mini burger, and chili dogs, corn dogs, jalapeño poppers, fried cheese and soooo much more. To drink we had punch, two batches, one for the children and pregnant ladies, and one with rum for everyone else! Oh I almost forgot! Cups and paper plates were red paisley, and cow print!

FOOD!!!
FOOD!!!

 

Cravings!!!
Cravings!!!

 

Cake NOM NOM NOM
Cake NOM NOM NOM

 

 

Big Picture
Big Picture

The last thing and just as important as everything else is attitude, to keep a shower, or any gathering interesting there needs to be entertainment. This could mean music or something, but in this case it meant that I had to grab and hold the attention of about twenty women and a few little kids, so that we ate, played games, visited and opened gifts in a timely manner.

Me and Ranger
Me and Ranger

This shower was a joint shower so we had to buy more of a few things, but also the food is not covered in the costs, but my co-hosts spent just under $400 on this shower. I could have spent a lot more! For example to make it extra fancy we could have rented or purchased fabric table clothes, and real roses instead of fake flowers. Over all though this shower was a success the guests, and mothers to be enjoyed it and I had fun planning it! I can’t wait until the next one!!
❤ Ash

 

2 thoughts on “It’s a Cowgirl Baby Shower

Leave a Reply

