Dessert · In the Kitchen

Nom nom nom cookies that may or may not increase breast milk supply but are tasty no matter what!!

Hello!! Happy Wednesday!!

This post is about cookies I promise!!

I have a 9 month old, Ranger, and before he was born I did a lot of reading about a lot of things, one of which was breastfeeding. I felt then, and still feel it is one of the best things a mother can do for her child, or herself. I know that sometimes it doesn’t work out and I am not now, nor would I ever judge or talk down to a mother who does not breastfeed for whatever reason. Now as a mother that has been breastfeeding for 9 months I know the fears that can go through a new mothers head while her infant nurses for hours and hours on end, or so it seems. I’m I producing enough? Is my baby getting the milk? On and on the worries go. I can’t guarantee that it will work out for everyone or that any food or product that says it increases breast milk will actually do that. However, there are things that are said to increase breast milk supply, and if it is yummy, or good for you what can it hurt, right. So, this is my favorite recipe for lactation cookies. Now, I can’t say for sure that it really increases supply but they are yummy and who doesn’t want another excuse to bake and eat cookies, and don’t worry your husband and kids can eat them with no ‘side effects’. HEHEHE

Now on to the cookies!!

Growing up my favorite cookies were always chocolate chip, but now these are my favorite…I can’t deny that I put chocolate chips in them every time though šŸ™‚

Recipe:

1C Sugar
1C Brown Sugar
1C Butter softened

2 Egg

2t Vanilla
1t Salt (I use kosher salt I like it so much more)
1t Baking Powder
1t Baking Soda
2C Flour
3C Oats (For milk production)
1/4C Flaxseed (For milk production)
2T Brewers Yeast (Like for brewing beer, it must be this kind of yeast for milk production)
1C Chocolate chips, pecans, walnuts, dried fruit, basically whatever brings your taste buds great joy.

Preheat oven 375.

Cream together the sugar and butter.

Add egg and mix well.

In a separate bowl combine flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda. Gradually mix the flour mixture in with the rest of the dough.

Mix in oats, flaxseed, and brewers yeast. At this point add whatever extras you like…I’m all about chocolate chips…nom nom nom.

Place spoonfuls of dough onto cookie sheet and bake for 9 to 11 minutes. Then cool on a wire rack.

Lastly ENJOY with milk…if that’s your thing…it’s totally my thing!!

Like I said I don’t know for sure that these help with milk production…but it can’t hurt and what new mommy doesn’t want to snack on a cookie once a day šŸ™‚ Be nice and share with the new daddy…or reward him for changing a diaper or two šŸ™‚

I hope you enjoy these cookies, but enjoy your new bundle of joy more, assuming you have a new bundle of joy…if not just love cookies!!!

These cookies would be a great thing to drop off at a new parents home as a little surprise for them, and it gives you an excuse to see the new baby!!

Leave a Reply

