Dessert · In the Kitchen

Let Them Eat Cake!

Hello and Happy Wednesday!
MMMM Cake! I personally have a vicious sweet tooth…and am trying very hard to cut back on the sweets but need to practice making Rangers smash cake for his 1st birthday party. So today I am baking a little 6 inch cake and praying that I have the strength to refrain from eating any cake. Not the point though, the point is to give you a from scratch cake recipe. So now let’s move on to that shall we!

I use to always make cake from a box, and there is nothing wrong with that, they taste fine, if you just follow the directions, however they do NOT taste as good or better than a cake made from scratch and guess what its not that much more difficult to make a cake from scratch. Now let me tell you a story.

Once upon a time I was hosting a baby shower for my dear friend Sarah Myers. I planned to make a three layer chocolate cake, using box cake. I did not buy enough boxes of cake though, and did not feel like going back to the store. So I looked up a chocolate cake recipe checked that I had all the ingredients and made my first cake from scratch. To assemble the cake I used two layers of box cake and one made from scratch. Everyone could tell the difference. None of the cake tasted badly, but the layer made from scratch out shown the other two layers, and I was a changed woman. Now I always make my cakes from scratch!

Today, however, I am making vanilla cake for Ranger. Its just as good as very simple to convert this recipe to chocolate. Any who here is what you need:

Vanilla White Cake
1/2 C Butter at room temperature
1C Sugar
2 Eggs
1 1/2C Flour
1 1/2t Baking Powder
1t Salt
2t Vanilla
1/2C Buttermilk (I always use buttermilk it makes for a denser cake)

Chocolate Butter Cream Frosting

1/2C Butter (at room temperature)
2/3C Cocoa Powder
3C Powdered Sugar
1/3C Milk
1t Vanilla Extract

To make cake:

Step 1) Cream butter and sugar together.
Step 2) Beat in eggs.
Step 3) Combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.
Step 4) Combine buttermilk and vanilla. Set aside.
Step 5) Alternate stirring dry ingredients, and liquid.
Step 6) Pour into a greased pan, I always grease my pans with butter and then dust with flour. This amount made a 6 inch round cake, and two cupcakes.
Step 7) Bake at 350 for 35 minutes. I actually suggest starting with 25 minutes and then adding 5 minutes at a time from there, different ovens and elevations can cook slower or quicker. (While the cake is baking you can make the frosting)
Step 8) Let cool and remove from pan.
Step 9) Freeze so that you can dirty frost the cake. Also remember to level the cake by cutting off the domed top.
Step 10) Dirty frost the cake, meaning to put a thin layer of frosting on the cake so that crumbs don’t show on the final layer. Return the cake to the freezer.
Step 11) Frost the cake! I find its good to pipe the frosting on to the cake and then smooth it out. Its also good to have a glass of hot water on hand to clean the frosting spatula and it also warms the spatula which helps smooth the frosting. (I am a frosting perfectionist…and never once has a caked I’ve frosted looked perfect…but they always look ‘good’ and taste fantastic!!)
Step 12) Let cake thaw at room temperature and enjoy!! NOM NOM NOM

To Make Frosting:

Step 1) Sift powdered sugar and coco powder.
Step 2) Cream butter and sugar mixture in small batches (less chance of mess). Make sure to scrape the sides of the bowl periodically. Slowly add milk and vanilla to keep proper texture.
Step 3) You may need more powdered sugar or milk to get the consistency and texture correct.

I let Ranger taste this cake and he approves…as does Ford and my sister Janna đŸ™‚

I also am using this cake to make Rangers Mustache Smash Cake for his party, there will be instructions on how to do that included in the birthday party post!!

Leave a Reply

