Snacks

Apple Chips

Hello and Happy Wednesday!!

The other day I was standing in my kitchen and I had two apples on the verge of going bad. Only because once the apples start to get mealy I don’t like to eat them, so then they do go bad because I refuse to eat them. So I was trying to think of what to do with them, hello baked apple slices!! So I did that…and then again the next day, and again the next day, and again, and again, and again!!! Needless to say I really liked them, so did my husband and so did my son. So if you are trying to be healthier this new year but need a snack or your sweet tooth is going nuts try this!!! Also would be great to toss in a diaper bag for on the go snacking…I guess it doesn’t have to be a diaper bag, you could just toss them in your purse if you wanted.

Baked Apple Chips

Two Apples
Cinnamon powder
Sugar if you want
Preheat oven to 250 (thats the lowest my oven will go)

Step 1) Slice apples about 3/16th of an inch thick. If you have a mandolin slicer great, it makes it much faster, and consistant.
Step 2) Line a baking sheet with parchment, or some form of non stick spary.
Step 3) Mix cinnamon and sugar in a bowl…I honestly didn’t measure this just used a little of each. (For the first few times I made these I did not use sugar just cinnamon and they were good, but when I tried the sugared ones they were also good, so either way you want will be delishious!
Step 4) Coat apple slices it mixture.
Step 5) Place them on baking sheet.
Step 6) Bake for 30 minutes and flip then bake for another 45 minutes.

They will crisp up as the cool, but you may find you like them crispier, if this is that case continue cooking for about another 15 minutes but check them often they will burn fast. Also I don’t recommend trying to get them crispier if you added the sugar because it burns and does not taste good.

A suggestion from my husband, for a spicy twist sprinkle some red chile on them! Ole!

20140115-071710.jpg

20140115-071700.jpg

5 thoughts on “Apple Chips

  1. Making these right now! They smell wonderful! I took the oven racks out and lined them with foil and sprayed them with PAM. It created a lot of cooking space and I was able to fit 8 apples in at a time. Saving myself some clean-up and time while making them for a whole family! Thanks for the idea Ashley!

Leave a Reply

