Dinner · Sides, Dips, Ect

Three common condiments made Paleo friendly!

Hello! Happy Wednesday!

So I have had a lot going on since my last post. First was my mother in laws wedding, then there was Easter, and after that was Ashley needs a nap time lol. I am sorry I’ve been a little less than eager to blog the past few weeks. However, today Ford has taken Ranger with him, I have swept, mopped, vacuumed, dusted, and cleaned the kitchen so I’m ready to blog!

First let me mention that my sister and I have been doing the Whole 30. I am sad to report I have NOT followed it like I should. I am happy to say my sister has, and she has had a no scale victory! A pair of her jeans that were too tight to button at the beginning of the Whole 30 buttoned as of yesterday and she isn’t done with the Whole 30 yet!

Since doing the Whole 30 and trying to eat Paleo/primal when I am not doing the Whole 30 I have started making most of my own condiments. Today I’m going to give you the recipe for mayonnaise, ketchup, and barque sauce. Two of these three are Whole 30, and one is just Paleo/primal.

I used this recipe for the mayo, and I didn’t change a thing so follow the link and the directions exactly and you are set. I will reiterate one thing…ROOM TEMPERATURE IS THE MOST IMPORTANT THING! This recipe is Whole 30 approved also, and its great. Since having made it I tried store-bought mayo and I could not stand it, bleh!

I used this recipe for the BBQ sauce.This recipe is NOT Whole 30 approved, it is Paleo/primal. I did change this up a bit. The change was due to not having two of the ingredients, also I just thought it might mix together better if I heated it all. My changes were as follows. I left out the tamari, and the allspice. I also just did it all in a small pot over medium heat. You may also find that you need to add a little more water or vinegar to get it to the best consistency. Ford keeps asking me to add more vinegar, so you may like it a bit more tangy as well.

I used this recipe for the ketchup, and discovered I DID NOT LIKE IT. So what I did was use the same base and change-up the seasonings. This ketchup would be Whole 30 approved. Here is my recipe for ketchup.

Ingredients:

1 Can (6oz) Tomato Paste

2T Vinegar or Lemon Juice

1/4t Dry Mustard

1/3C Water

1/4t Salt

1/4t Garlic Powder

1/4t Onion Powder

1/4t Chile Powder

Mix this all together in a bowl until smooth. Adjust water to preferred consistency. Adjust spices to preferred flavor.

I really love this ketchup as well. I found that I don’t like store-bought brands as much now. I will say that it tends to be a little thicker, and have more of a tomato taste to it. Obviously anything you make at home instead of buying will not taste exactly like store-bought, due to the fact that they add all sorts of JUNK.

I hope you try, and love these recipes. On Wednesday next week my family is head to Cali for a vacation! WOO HOO so I’ll try to squeeze in another post, however if not I’ll defiantly post sometime after  May 25 (I am doing a wedding cake that weekend!)

Ash

 

One thought on “Three common condiments made Paleo friendly!

Leave a Reply

