For Your Home

DIY Laundry Detergent

Hello! Happy Tuesday!

In the past I have made my laundry detergent, before having a baby and going back to work. It is very inexpensive to make and honestly, I hate the way store-bought detergent smells. The stuff from the store is too over powering and makes me feel sick. However, at some point during the course of this year I ran out of my supply of the homemade stuff and was feeling lazy so I just started buying the free and clear kind of store detergent. My husband has pestered me for a while now to get back to making our laundry detergent, and just two days ago while my family and I were doing our bi-weekly shopping I reached for the brand of laundry detergent I have been buying, and my husband said, “Why don’t you make our laundry detergent anymore?” To which I replied, “I’m lazy I guess. Is it very important to you that I make it?” He of course said yes he wished I would make it. So for $19.35 I made about a years worth of laundry detergent this morning in about 40 minutes. (That was with help of my 20 month old).

Ranger "helping" he thinks its cheese. LOL
Ranger “helping” he thinks its cheese. LOL

image

Here is the break down:

3 Fels-Naptha bars {$2.97, $0.99 each}

1 box Arm & Hammer Washing Soda (55 oz) {$3.24}

1 box Arm & Hammer Baking Soda (4 lbs) {$2.24} BTW the baking soda I have pictured is a much larger amount than you need. It does not cost $2.24.

1 box 20 Mule Team Borax (4lbs 12oz) {$3.38}

1 tub Oxi-Clean Stain Remover (3 lbs) {$7.52}

Grate the 3 bars of Fels-Naptha with a cheese grater. (I have seen people use their food processors but a friend told me that for her it was more mess than it was worth so I have never tried that personally.)

This part is why I was "lazy" for 9 months or so.
This part is why I was “lazy” for 9 months or so.

Then simply dump all the rest of the ingredients into the tub you will be storing the laundry detergent in and mix it all up!

Tada!
Tada!

To wash a load of laundry with your homemade laundry detergent you only need 1 Teaspoon of the soap and depending on how often you do laundry, this batch should last 6 months to a year.

There you have it! Homemade laundry detergent for less than $20, made in under 45 minutes!

Ash

3 thoughts on “DIY Laundry Detergent

Leave a Reply

