In the Kitchen · Sides, Dips, Ect

Homemade Cream of Chicken Soup…Gluten Free :)

Hello! Happy Thursday!

Living in the middle of no where…which I love…can have its draw backs at times. One of those draw backs is that if you plan to make a certain recipe for dinner only to realize that you are missing an important ingredient and the closest grocery store is an hour and fifteen minutes away, what is a girl to do!!! That’s an easy one! Either make the missing ingredient, or change the recipe.

In today’s recipe I am missing cream of chicken soup. Turns out it is totally easy to make! I did change the recipe that I got the idea from though. I changed the recipe because it called for flour. Since I have discovered (from doing the whole 30) that gluten makes me feel very sick, I have been trying to cut out all flour based products.

Here is the recipe:

3T Butter
3T Corn Starch
1 1/2C Chicken Stock
1/2C Milk
TT Salt and Pepper

Melt butter over medium heat.
Whisk in corn starch, it will thicken quickly.
Whisk in chicken stock, and milk.
Add salt and pepper to taste.

It takes about 15 minutes to make from start to finish. It tastes really great too! The BEST part is that it doesn’t have all the added junk that is in the store bought stuff!

IMG_0715.JPG

I hope you try it and I hope you love it!

Ash

Leave a Reply

