Craftiness · For Your Home · Gifts · Uncategorized

Wooden Pumpkins for Fall

Hello! Happy Thursday!

I love fall, I also love winter, but now its fall and I just love fall. My mom, and my mother in law, are the type of people who go all out decorating their homes for each season. I’m always a bit jealous because I’m still at the point in my life where I don’t have extra money to spend on cute decorations at craft stores. (EVEN THOUGH I REALLY REALLY WANT TO!) So I perused Pinterest looking at all the cute things I thought I couldn’t have. Then I found these adorable pictures of wooden pumpkins! We have so much scrap wood around the camp that I knew if I could get my husbands expert help I, or rather we, could make these cute front porch decorations! As it turns out, convincing him to help me on his day off was not hard at all.

Making these wooden pumpkins was relatively simple, and inexpensive. We used scrap wood from around camp of different sizes.

We used 6X6, 4X4, and 2X6. Rangers pumpkins were 1×1.

Here is some of the wood after it was cut.
Here is some of the wood after being cut.

 

 

 

Ford and I used a miter saw, and a chain saw to cut our wood. The miter saw gave us a nice smooth finish, while the chain saw gave a more “rustic” finish.

Me using the miter saw to cut the 4X4  (you can see my 19 week baby bump!)
Me using the miter saw to cut the 4X4
(you can see my 19 week baby bump!)
My manly man using a chain saw. I'm not cool enough to use the chain saw.
My manly man using a chain saw. I’m not cool enough to use the chain saw.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If there are any splintered edges from the chain saw you can use a wire brush or sand paper to knock them off. Another good idea if you are using scrap wood is to use a wire brush to brush off any loose debris.

Next Ford used his drill with a wood bore drill bit to make the holes for the stems. We used from 3/8″ up to 1″, depending on the size of the stem. We used sticks from the pine trees from around our home. You can you any sticks you have available in any size and length that you like. Ford did not drill all the holes perfectly in the center or perfectly straight. He did some off-center and some at angles. Pumpkins aren’t perfect, and a little off-center gives character to your unique pumpkin.

Wood bore drill bits.
Wood bore drill bits.
Ford drilling the holes for the stems.
Ford drilling the holes for the stems.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Some of our scrap wood had old paint on them. We went ahead and added a bit more paint to them. For some of our pumpkins we started with a base coat of brown paint, and some we did a brownish-yellow coat. The base coat should cover the entire pumpkin fairly well. You can do any color you like. We liked these colors because we were going for a very rustic look. For our paint we simply used an acrylic craft paint, and a bristle brush to apply the paint.

A few of our pumpkins with the brown base coat, an example of our paint, and paint brush.
A few of our pumpkins with the brown base coat, an example of our paint, and paint brush. (The stems were there just to test the fit. You should do all painting before attaching the stems.)

After we let our base coat dry we then did our final coat of paint. For this coat we used a variety colors. The colors we used were, bright orange, brownish orange, and yellowish orange. We mixed the paint ourselves to achieve the look we wanted. The final coat of paint was dry brushed so that some of the brown showed through and the grain was very prominent.

Here I am applying a base coat of brownish yellow to our 6X6 pumpkin.
Here I am applying a base coat of brownish-yellow to our 6X6 pumpkin.
Here is Ford doing a final coat on a 4X4 pumpkin.
Here is Ford doing a final coat on a 4X6 pumpkin.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After we let the paint dry we glued in the stems with wood glue. Simple put some wood glue in the hole and tap in the stem.

Wood glue
Wood glue
Insert stem
Insert stem

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To finish the pumpkins tie a ribbon around the stem and viola!

Finished product. An assortment of sizes.
Finished product. An assortment of sizes, shapes and colors.

After Rangers nap we let him paint three 1X1 pumpkins. He really enjoyed it, and goodness is he cute. This would be a good project to let older kids help with from start to finish, and younger kids can paint or decorate their own.

He is so cute!
He is so cute!
Ranger and Daddy painting Rangers tiny pumpkins.
Ranger and Daddy painting Rangers tiny pumpkins.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here are some more pictures of our finished project. Our rustic pumpkins match our rustic porch! HA!

Close up of Rangers tiny pumpkins.
Close up of Rangers tiny pumpkins.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I'm very pleased with our end result.
I’m very pleased with our result.

Pumpkins 18We had fun making these pumpkins together today, and I love the touch of fall they are adding to our porch.

Ash, and Ford

Leave a Reply

