In the Kitchen · Snacks

Grain Free Sweet Potato Muffins…NOM NOM NOM

Hello! Happy Monday!

It has been a year since my step mom, Tami, introduced me to these fabulous muffins! Last year we had our first Christmas at home, and my Dad and Tami came. Tami brought with her a big Tupperware full of these yummy sweet potato muffins. At first Ford and I were thinking, “hmmm muffins made of sweet potatoes…ok this could be interesting.” Oh MY GOODNESS they were fabulous, a huge hit, and everyone loved them. I of course had to get the recipe from her. I actually have had to get the recipe from her several times, I keep losing it.

As I said everyone loved these muffins, that includes my now very picky 20 month old. Ranger loves them! He eats them non-stop when I make them. So if you have a picky eater go ahead and give this recipe a try! It may be a “muffin” but its made of sweet potato, is sweetened with honey, and is grain free. On to the recipe!

Ingredients:

1 1/2 C Almond Flour

1 C Cooked Sweet Potato (This is a good use of left overs if you have any, if not just microwave one real quick)

3 Eggs

1/2 C Honey

1 t Vanilla

1 t Baking Powder

1 t Cinnamon

1/4 t Nutmeg

Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees. Spray a 6 cup muffin tin with non-stick spray.

Mix all the ingredients in a bowl with a wooden spoon until well blended.

image_3

Fill the muffin cups with the batter evenly until you have used all batter.

image_2

Bake for 25 minutes, until the muffin tops turn golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean.

image_1
Once muffins have finished baking let cool, for 5 minutes before serving warm.

image

Any leftover muffins should be saved in an air tight container for about a week. They are delicious at room temperature, but I prefer them warm.  Also they are tasty with chopped pecans in them.

I hope that you try these fabulous grain free sweet potato muffins and that you LOVE them!

Ash

Leave a Reply

