Dinner · In the Kitchen

Some Like it Hot…Bang Bang Shrimp Tacos

Do you love spicy food? Do you love tacos? Do you love shrimp? Yes to all three! Great, then we can be friends!

In our house we love tacos of any kind, and all things spicy. Of course when I say we, I mean Ford and me, the kids aren’t so much into spicy but they do love tacos and shrimp. It is so easy to leave some shrimp out of the spicy Bang Bang sauce and let the kids eat “plain” shrimp tacos! It’s a win win! 

A little back story you say…ok! So I was on Pinterest one day, naturally, searching for something different to make for dinner. Searching specifically for something Paleo or Whole30 approved when this recipe came up, and I was intrigued. (You may notice that I have changed a few things…like I don’t dredge my shrimp in anything we just cook the shrimp and toss in the sauce) I mentioned before that we love spicy, and I meant it, and sriracha is super spicy and delicious! So I saved the recipe and once I made a trip to the store for all the ingredients I made it, and we loved it and since then I’ve made it many many times, and its awesome. I also have put the bang bang sauce on chicken, and veggies, and once I even spread it on a sandwich. Basically, you can and should eat it on everything. 

Well, let’s get on with it already! Here is the recipe…this is going to change your life! 

Bang Bang Shrimp Tacos

Although at first glance you may be thinking, “whoa that looks super time-consuming” and like a major under taking, it’s not. It is actually a pretty quick meal, great for week nights or dinner parties! We serve this with Mexican rice or beans, and sautéed veggies, like bell peppers, and onion.  

Ingredients

 For the Tacos: 

  • 1 lb shrimp, peeled
  • oil for sauteing 
  • Bang Bang Sauce
  • Coleslaw
  • Tortillas of your choice (paleo, flour, corn, or just eat it with a fork)

Bang Bang Sauce:

  • 1/3 C Mayo (I make my own)
  • 1/4 C Sweet Chile Sauce (recipe below, or you can buy it…I alwasys make it)
  • 2 T Sriracha

Sweet Chile Sauce:

  • 3.5 T White Wine Vinegar (I’ve substituted other types in a pinch)
  • 2 T Water
  • 1.5 T Honey
  • 1 t Garlic, minced
  • 1 t Red Chile Flakes
  • 1/2 t Ginger, minced
  • 1/4 t Chile powder 
  • Salt to taste

Coleslaw: 

  • 10 oz Bag Coleslaw mix (We like broccoli slaw)
  • 2 T Olive Oil
  • 1 T White Wine Vinegar (substitution possible)
  • 1/2 T Honey
  • Salt to taste

Directions

  1. For the sweet chile sauce, whisk together vinegar, water, honey, garlic, red chile flakes, ginger, chile powder, and salt in a small pan over medium heat. Bring to a boil and then simmer for about 5 to 10 minutes until it begins to thicken. Let cool. This will give you about 1/4 cup sauce. 
  2. For the Bang Bang Sauce mix up the mayo, sweet chile sauce, and sriracha. Set aside.
  3. For the coleslaw whisk the oil, vinegar, honey, and salt in a mixing bowl. Toss coleslaw mix with “dressing” until well coated. Set aside.
  4. Saute the shrimp in oil over medium heat, shrimp cooks fast this should only take 2 to 3 minutes for each side, less if your shrimp is very small. 
  5. Toss shrimp with Bang Bang Sauce. 
  6. To assemble the tacos; heat tortillas, place spoonful of coleslaw on tortilla, top with a few shrimp and finish with a drizzle of sriracha. 
  7. Enjoy!

The amount of tacos you will get will depend on shrimp size and how many shrimp you put in each taco. We usually do 4 to 5 shrimp and get about 7 to 8 tacos. 

Leave a Reply

