In the Kitchen

Creamy Shrimp and Spaghetti Squash

My husband does this thing, he tells me he really likes a certain vegetable, for example brussel sprouts. I buy them and I try a few different recipes, and I discover that I LOVE them and so I buy them all the time and cook them all the time, and then he gets sick of them and doesn’t want them anymore. Then I am sad because I want to eat them everyday (or at least once a week) and he wants nothing to do with them.

I think that is going to happen with spaghetti squash. I AM IN LOVE!

I am always looking for new and different grain free, dairy free, and paleo recipes. I kept seeing these recipes on Pinterest using spaghetti squash in place of noodles and I was intrigued. I scoped out a bunch of different recipes, consulted my Flavor Bible and created my own delicious spaghetti squash dish. 

Creamy Shrimp and Spaghetti Squash

  • Servings: 2
  • Time: 60 Minutes
  • Print

The amount of servings you will get will depend on the size of your squash. Mine was a medium to small squash, and was just perfect for my husband and I. 

If your sauce does not thicken to your liking you can always use arrowroot powder in a slurry, or a corn starch slurry, the latter means it is no longer grain free. 

Ingredients

  • 1 Medium Spaghetti Squash
  • 1 or 2 Bags of Shrimp 12 oz (just decide how shrimp filled you want your dish…we like lots of shrimp)
  • Olive oil 
  • 3 T Ghee or Clarified Butter 
  • Salt and Pepper to Taste
  • 3 Cloves of Minced Garlic
  • Juice of 1 Lemon
  • 1/2 C Dry White Wine
  • 1 t Dijon Mustard
  • Dash or 2 of Red Pepper Flakes
  • 1/4 C Canned Coconut Milk (Full Fat)
  • 1 C Halved Cherry Tomatoes
  • 1 T Basil 

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cut spaghetti squash in half and remove seeds. Spritz with olive oil (or brush on, or drizzle). Place upside down onto parchment lined baking sheet. Roast for 45 minutes. 
  2. While spaghetti squash is roasting, melt clarified butter in a large pan over medium high heat. Add shrimp and season with salt and pepper. Shrimp cooks quickly so this should only take about 2 minutes per side. Once your shrimp is ready to flip add the garlic. Once shrimp is fully cooked remove from pan, you really don’t want to over cook those little guys. 
  3. Add the lemon juice, white wine, Dijon mustard, red pepper flakes, and basil to the pan. Bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer until squash is done.
  4. Whisk coconut milk into sauce and allow to thicken. Add the tomatoes to cook them slightly, not too much or they will become mushy.
  5. Once the squash is done I suggest you let it cool for a minute (yes I made the mistake of not waiting…ouch). Then carefully remove spaghetti squash strands with a fork. 
  6. Toss squash and shrimp in sauce and serve! 
  7. Enjoy! 

I hope you give this one a try, let me know what you think once your tummy is full! 

Ash

2 thoughts on “Creamy Shrimp and Spaghetti Squash

Leave a Reply

