Dessert · In the Kitchen

Peanut Butter Cookies & Breast Cancer Awareness!

October…fall, pumpkins, Halloween, and Breast Cancer Awareness. 

Last week my church hosted the Mountain Valley Baptist Associations meeting. I was asked to bring cookies, three dozen cookies to be exact. I’m all about baking to eat one cookie and give the rest away, so of course I said yes. My first thought was to do sugar cookies with royal icing decorations, which I love to do, but is so time consuming, and I just didn’t have much time. (My life is very full right now, two bible studies, plus I’m reading a book…I know crazy that I have time for that…I’m working, I’m blogging, the kids and I go to story time every week, I’m now the church clerk…I still have to cook for my family, do the laundry and clean the house…and when we can we try to do “school” so yea I have a lot on my plate right now.) So I thought about what type of cookie I have not made recently and I remember peanut butter blossoms. Then I giggled because my husband calls them peanut butter tata’s, because they resemble tata’s (he’s so inappropriate!…but also funny) AND then I also remembered that October is breast cancer awareness month! So boom! Great month to feature them here! 

With out making this post too long and boring, because why do you want to know about anything other than the cookies…let me just mention this:

I have had two of my grandmothers suffer from breast cancer. It is a very serious thing to deal with. Our family is so blessed to not have lost either of these great women to the disease. It is very important to do self checks regularly and if you find anything unusual you should get it checked by a doctor immediately. 

Now that I have lectured you, shall we get on with the cookies already? Yes…ok great here we go!

Peanut Butter Tata's aka Peanut Butter Blossoms

  • Servings: About 24
  • Print

Delicious peanut butter cookies topped with a chocolate kiss, a fabulous treat to eat and a little reminder that our tata health is so very important!

The amount of cookies you get will depend on how big or small you make them. Also, you can use any kind of kiss you want! I used milk chocolate, but do what ever makes your heart happiest…and your tummy too!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 C Soft Butter
  • 1/2 C Sugar
  • 1/2 C Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 C Creamy Peanut Butter
  • 1 Egg
  • 1t Vanilla
  • 1t Baking Soda
  • 2 C Flour
  • 24 Kisses


Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Line your baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Cream together butter and both sugars until light and fluffy.
  3. Mix in egg, vanilla, and peanut butter.
  4. Next the dry ingredients, flour, and baking soda to finish the dough.
  5. Using a spoon, scope the dough into small balls. Place on baking sheet about and inch apart, and bake for 8-10 minutes.
  6. Once the cookies are baked place kisses on top of each cookie.
  7. Let cool completely, I put them in the fridge or freezer.
  8. Take lots of pictures! Let your kids eat them, dip them in milk, or give them away!

I hope you love these, and I hope that when you see them you remember those tata’s!! LOL I pray that you, and your family are not touched by this disease, or any form of cancer, but that if you are you will lean on God and trust Him and His will. 

Ash

 

Leave a Reply

