Breakfast

Dutch Baby

I don’t know that I have mentioned anything recently about the environment my family and I live in. So let me tell you a little bit about that to preface my story about Dutch Baby’s and being hospitable and welcoming.

My husband, Ford, is the Maintenance and  Construction Supervisor at a Christian Camp in the beautiful Sacramento mountains of New Mexico. So we live on camp property in camp housing. With the exception of a wonderful couple that lives across the dirt road from us, and a family that lives on the road below us, all of our close full time neighbors are other camp staff. Our community is small, but wonderful, and because of this I feel it is very important to welcome new camp staff into our home, open our hearts and make them feel included, welcomed, and cared for as soon as possible after they arrive here.

My husband is from this area, and I grew up two hours away, but the majority of camp staff are not even from New Mexico, and I want them to feel like they are home when they come into my home.

So that being said, just over a month ago the camp hired a new equestrian manager, Kathryn, and she moved to our little mountain community from Colorado. It was very important to me that we welcomed her, on a more personal level. Yes the camp as a whole is very welcoming, but I wanted her to get to know us, the Prather Family. I wanted to be her friend! And let me say, I really like her, and I am so glad we had her come over.

Our meal was not fancy, our home is not fancy or big. It is homey and warm, and our goal was to make a friend and get to know her, at the best place to get to know anyone, our kitchen table. So we opened our home and we opened out hearts, we feed her Dutch Baby’s, aka German Pancakes, and we made a new friend. It was great.

Dutch Baby

  • Servings: 5 to 6
  • Time: 45 minutes
  • Print

A Dutch Baby, also known as a German Pancake, is a sweet puff that is normally served for breakfast. It is similar to a large popover. It is very fluffy straight from the oven, but falls quickly. .

You can make this plain, as is, or you can add fruit, fresh or frozen. Make it in a cast iron skillet, a pie dish, or muffin tin for individual servings. Some recipes call for a dash of sugar, but I feel like the fruit adds enough sweetness, especially if you add syrup or powdered sugar after baking.

This would be good as a savory dish also. Try adding cheese, bacon, sausage, or even vegetables.

Ingredients

  • 6 Eggs
  • 1 C Milk (Almond milk, Soy, Etc)
  • 1 C Flour (Try GF)
  • 4 T Butter
  • 1 t Salt
  • 1 t Vanilla (Optional)
  • 1/2 C Blue Berries (Optional)


Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Place 4 T butter into dish, I’m using a pie dish, and place it into the oven to heat and melt butter.
  3. Mix milk, flour, salt, and eggs until well combined. (Vanilla or sugar here is you decide you want that.) It will be very runny.
  4. When the butter is melted, pour the batter into the dish, and add fruit if you are doing that.
  5. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes. It will be very puffy, and golden brown.
  6. Sprinkle with powdered sugar, drizzle with honey or syrup, and enjoy.
  7. This is a great recipe for a special occasion breakfast, or  breakfast for dinner.

Remember that opening your home and heart to someone doesn’t have to be a big show. So invite those new neighbors over and have breakfast for dinner, make a friend and enjoy a tasty Dutch Baby.

Ash

 

One thought on “Dutch Baby

  1. I feel so blessed to call you daughter. I don’t know what we did to raise such a loving, kindhearted and caring person, I am so proud of who you are!!!
    And….you’re, also, a great cook!!! I love you, Ashley Nicole Prather💕💕

Leave a Reply

